Secret Walled Garden Photo Shoot

 

Image

 

http://www.stevereesphotographyni.co.uk

I took my first trip to Bangor Castle yesterday to see the famed walled garden. If you haven’t been then I suggest you do.

The Ward family designed the Castle Park Walled Garden in the 1840s. It was never open to the public and was considered by many as a secret garden! It is with thanks to North Down Borough Council that they have restored this beautiful garden. The Garden is open to the public from Easter to the end of October each year.  During the winter months essential horticultural and maintenance work is undertaken and the Garden is closed.

The southern section of the Garden remains true to its Victorian roots.  It is divided into four quadrants – the kitchen garden, the herb and topiary garden, the damp garden and the flower garden.  These four areas are separated by avenues of spectacular pleached lime trees and rose covered arches.

I took a series of photos to give you an idea of what to expect. Enjoy!

 

Image

Passing through a small wooded area as I made my way to the walled garden I saw these old tree stumps piled on top of each other. It looked like a kind of naturalized sculpture and needed a photo taken.

Image

This amazing water fountain at the heart of the garden had so much presence and calmed me with its sound.

Image

This Larch tree in a huge terracotta pot was shaped to create the Japanese bonsai effect. As I myself have been involved in the past and present with bonsai, I just had to take a look.

Image

A beautiful mix of Perennial planting with grit path area gave a perfect balance of colour and contrast. A perfect mix of planting.

Image

A bit of symmetrical boarder design, with what looks like some conical shaped Yew trees. I didn’t see them close up so forgive me if I’m wrong on that one lol!

Image

This stunning Meconopsis betonicifolia hit me right between the eyes as I walked along the pathway, with its bright blue petals and yellow stamens is a true beauty queen. As you can see it beckoned me to take its picture.

Image

A regimental line of trees, that run up the entire center of the garden and parallel to the rose arch gave the garden a strong formal design feel, even though the outer edges were very informal, with its Perennial plantings that create curvy edged pathways.

Image

CHRYSANTHEMUM MAXIMUM SHASTA above is a hardy perennial plant and was abundant in the garden. With its bright yellow centers and white petals, it definitely brightened up the garden, not that it needed brightening up.

Image

Allium ‘Lucy Ball’ like all Alliums is a stunning flower and again leaped out at me to get its photo taken.

Image

Another section of pathway, this time edged with rock work. It had a nice mix of shrubs and grasses to compliment the Perennials.

Image

Apple blossom grown along a wooden horizontal structure. This smelt so sweet as I walked along through the garden.

Image

Not sure what this flower head was but I thought it was interesting enough to capture and much to my delight it turned out rather interesting.

Image

This interesting sculpture was at the gate to the courtyard, where the cafe is positioned. I wanted to give it a dramatic feeling, which is why I took the shot at this angle. Nice sculpture!

This is a garden that deserves your visit and attention. I have been out of horticulture for a long time now and walking through this amazing garden showed me how much I actually miss the profession and working with plants.  Even though I haven’t written very much on this garden, I hope that I have given you some idea about what you might be missing out on. Please visit it and if you can stay for a coffee at the cafe. You won’t be disappointed!

2 thoughts on “Secret Walled Garden Photo Shoot

Leave a Reply

